I’m Heading Back to Greenville!

Next Week, I’ll be heading back to a city I have not seen since 2010: Good ole Greenville, SC. I’m going there for a week-long composition seminar with Dan Forrest, Craig Courtney, and Howard Helvey! Over the years, my choirs have sung much of their music, and I am thrilled to finally meet them in person. They are all highly successful composers, their music is frequently published, and–most importantly–they strive for that elusive balance of artistry and accessibility in their pieces. ┬áIn particular, Dan Forrest has become one of my favorite contemporary composers. His pieces are beautiful and lyrical.

I am extremely excited and just a little nervous. I’ve done a lot of conducting and a ton of singing, but composing is something I’ve always done on the side. I write a piece every summer for my children’s choir camps. I’ve also composed pieces for my choirs to use in concerts and tours. I am truly honored to be allowed to attend this workshop, and I am hopeful that I will gain a great deal of insight into the composition process. I’m also looking forward to making new friends and meeting with old ones!

Plus, I’ve heard Greenville has extensively renovated its downtown. Greenville is consistently ranked as one of the best towns in the South. It will be fascinating to see how much it has changed and grown. On to Greenville!

Leave a Reply

